JQA Young House meeting, March 14, 2013 - 6:30-8 pm
Leedy Grange Hall, 835 NW Saltzman
If you’re curious about the status of Cedar Mill’s historic John Quincy Adams Young House and want to learn more about it, and how you can help with its restoration, join us for an informational meeting at 6:30 pm, Thursday, March 14 at the Leedy Grange Hall, 835 NW Saltzman.
The house, on Cornell near 119th, was built in 1869 by the second owner of the lumber mill that gives our community its name. It’s owned by Tualatin Hills Park & Recreation District. The Friends of the JQA Young House is a volunteer group dedicated to bringing the house back to the community as a historic resource and a place to have a hands-on experience of our pioneer past.
The John Quincy Adams Young House
A small white salt-box style house sits at the edge of a parking lot south of Cornell Road near 119th. It has been boarded up for years. But a lot of Cedar Mill history is embodied in this modest structure. Built in 1869 by John Quincy Adams Young, a prominent Oregon pioneer, the house became Cedar Mill’s first post office and served as a general store. It’s one of the oldest buildings in our area, and it’s going to be transformed into a community resource through the efforts of local citizens.
|The JQA Young House, circa 1903|
Our hope is that the development of the JQA Young House and the adjacent Cedar Mill Falls into a park and community interpretive center will give our community not only a place to meet and recreate, but also an opportunity for Cedar Mill to define itself and its legacy. It will be the centerpiece of the Cedar Mill Community.
Adults and children both ask, “Why this name? Cedar Mill, what does this mean?” Now, the story has an opportunity to be told. The JQA Young House will teach what life may have been like in 1869, highlighting the mill’s location and its importance in shaping Oregon. Located close to the Sunset Transit Center and to local highways, the JQA Young House offers the potential for historical tourism, as well as a much-needed community meeting facility.The development of the Cedar Mill Falls into a park will provide a natural green space for the community to explore and enjoy. When restored, it may be included in the history curriculum for local schools and will be a resource for all students of the Oregon Trail and pioneer history.
The content of this website is the result of blatant plagiarism by its intrepid creators. They would like to thank: Sue Conger, Linda S. Dodds and Nancy A Olson.